Wiley Corporate Logo

Top Navigation

Free Articles by 2014 Nobel Prize Winners in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014 has been awarded to Isamu Akasaki, Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan, and Nagoya University, Japan, Hiroshi Amano, Nagoya University, Japan, and Shuji Nakamura, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA, “for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources”.

Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano, and Shuji Nakamura have succeeded where many others had failed. They developed blue LEDs (light emitting diodes) which, together with existing red and green ones, allowed the energy-efficient creation of white light, sounding the death knell for incandescent lighting and contributing to saving important resources.

Read more details about their finding on ChemistryViews and MaterialsViews.

To celebrate the achievements of all three laureates, Wiley made the following selection of content free to access until the end of 2014.

Contributions by Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano:

Contributions by Shuji Nakamura:

Hiroshi Amano’s three issues of physica status solidi (c) as guest editor:


Did you guess this year’s winners right? What do you think about their fabulous finding of blue LEDs? Share your thoughts with us in the comment section below or tweet to us @wileyasiablog anytime!

, , , , , ,

Comments are closed.